anti-virus package in xpsp2?

All things techie, be they discussions on troubleshooting, video encoding, programming, or algorithm design.

Moderator: Nuxius

anti-virus package in xpsp2?

Postby TerraFrost » Wed Feb 25, 2004 5:39 am

in addition to including a pop up killer, for ie, windows xp, sp 2, will include an anti-virus package, as described in this article:

http://internetnews.com/dev-news/article.php/3317211

i, myself, think it might be prudent to release sp2 sooner, rather than later, and make the anti-virus thing and the pop up killer power toys.
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby TerraFrost » Sat Mar 06, 2004 10:04 pm

on the subject of windows xp sp2, sp2 will break some programs, as it is changing things that were previously defaults...

http://www.infoworld.com/article/04/03/ ... sp2_1.html
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Murrian » Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:43 pm

Thing i'd find most annoying though is the icf turned on by default - don't care how much they've "new and improved" it - my monies still on it being a p.o.s. and it will just cause more problems with net based progs & newbs then it will solve or "prevent" as it were (this coming from someone who does free tech support for a web app).
Image
User avatar
Murrian
Townfolk
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:59 am
Location: In Ga Ga Land

Postby TerraFrost » Sun Aug 08, 2004 5:49 am

well... the final version of XP SP2 has been released, although it's not available to normal users just yet. when it is, and if you're interested in adding sp2 to a windows xp install cd, you can do what is called "slipstreaming" as described here:

http://www.winbeta.org/forums/index.php ... f=7&t=5640

once you do that, you can customize how it installs by following the instructions given on this website:

http://unattended.msfn.org/index.htm
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby TerraFrost » Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:38 pm

a direct download link can be found here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 368D3CDB5A
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby TerraFrost » Fri Aug 13, 2004 7:47 am

with the info. given at the unattended.msfn.org website, i've successfully made a windows xp cd with sp2 that doesn't require a cd key be inputed (because it automatically inputs it) and doesn't require activation (because the campus computer store once sold copies of winxp that didn't require activation pursuent to the MSCA).

now if only i had more computers to install it on, hehe :)
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Nuxius » Fri Aug 13, 2004 8:12 am

Heh, I wish I had a copy of XP that didn't require activation.

I'm still a bit worried about how that's all going to go when I build my new PC. I know I'm going to have to call Microsoft (unless there's some other way to transfer the activation code that I don't know of), I just hope they don't give me a hard time on it.

I'll get pissed off if they do.
Image
User avatar
Nuxius
Head Moderator
Head Moderator
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 8:39 am
Location: Texas!

Postby TerraFrost » Wed Aug 18, 2004 6:01 pm

i think copies like that are quite rare. they haven't been sold since i've worked there.

and yeah... hopefully Microsoft won't give you a hard time. although just having to write down all the numbers / letters they tell you seems like it'll give you kinda a hard time, enough :(

anyway, speaking of sp2, microsoft has sorta delayed it again, even though its already been released, heh:

http://www.washingtontechnology.com/new ... 289-1.html
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Murrian » Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:49 pm

Just installed SP2 on a fresh box using an old XPSP1 Pro that didn't require *cough* activation. Worked a charm, though not keen, it's more newb friendly, probably great for those that don't know how to look after their comp. I just found it tedious - apart from the new security updates i didn't really notice any other useful extra's - oh, apart from my keygen for StyleXP not running :crazy
Image
User avatar
Murrian
Townfolk
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:59 am
Location: In Ga Ga Land

Postby Nuxius » Fri Aug 20, 2004 9:51 am

I still haven't installed SP2 myself. I'm waiting to find out what troubles other users are having before I do.

On the activation thing, well, I just remembered about the free 1 year trail version of Windows XP Pro 64-bit edition. And since my new computer will have an Athlon 64, I'll be able to use it.
Image
User avatar
Nuxius
Head Moderator
Head Moderator
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 8:39 am
Location: Texas!

Postby TerraFrost » Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:10 am

as a reminder to myself, here's a link discussing how to make the varrious windows xp powertoys install themselves as windows xp installs itself:

http://unattended.msfn.org/xp/applicati ... ertoys.htm
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Nuxius » Tue Oct 26, 2004 7:45 am

Well, it seems as though the copy of Windows XP that came with my dad's computer doesn't require activation. Strange. Perhaps OEM copies don't require it?

Maybe I should've bought that OEM version off of NewEgg instead... *strokes his goatee* Ahhh, oh well.
Image
User avatar
Nuxius
Head Moderator
Head Moderator
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 8:39 am
Location: Texas!

Postby TerraFrost » Tue Oct 26, 2004 3:11 pm

that doesn't surprise me. although now that you mention it... i wonder how they prevent you from installing it on multiple machines...
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Murrian » Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:11 am

TerraFrost wrote:that doesn't surprise me. although now that you mention it... i wonder how they prevent you from installing it on multiple machines...
My sisters oem copy of windows 98 doesn't require the usual rubbish - but when you pop the disc into another computer it comes up "this is not an Acer pc" - probably some description of the comp on the disc under the /oem/ dir.
Image
User avatar
Murrian
Townfolk
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:59 am
Location: In Ga Ga Land

Postby TerraFrost » Tue Jan 04, 2005 3:36 am

sorta as a follow up to their pop-up killer, Microsoft should be releasing a spyware detector soon:

http://www.neowin.net/comments.php?id=2 ... egory=main

the above url includes screenshots of the app, too.

something that i think is kinda odd - it says that Microsoft purchased a company that made anti-spyware tools to make this one. why not simply rebrand it? hardware is rebranded all the time.
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Next

Return to Communications Center

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron