phpbb_copy_users

Advertise a phpBB hack or request help with an existing one.

Moderator: TerraFrost

phpbb_copy_users

Postby TerraFrost » Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:47 am

attached is a little tool i wrote to copy the users of one phpbb to another phpbb, and vice versa. this is why we (frost jedi) got such a huge boost in members, recently - the users have elucidiating apathy (a board we host) have been copied here :)

the tool is attached - if anyone downloads it / has questions, please post here :)

it's been tested on phpbb 2.0.3 and 2.0.4..

EDIT: i'm working on a new version... it'll hopefully be out either today or tomorrow :)
Attachments
copy_users.zip
(2.83 KiB) Downloaded 798 times
Last edited by TerraFrost on Sat Jun 14, 2003 5:00 pm, edited 6 times in total.
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Jimmy011991 » Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:39 am

I get the following error message:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /home/fithoslu/public_html/zelda-central/forums/copy_users.php on line 19

can u show me an example of one already filled out so i can see what im doing wrong? Thanks!
Jimmy011991
Traveler
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:38 am

Postby TerraFrost » Sun Jun 08, 2003 1:48 am

line 19 would put the error in the part where you're supposed to enter in the first database name... did you end the previous line with a semi colon, or enter the database in quotes?

anyways, if that doesn't help, maybe this example setup will :)

(it's attached)
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby TerraFrost » Sun Jun 08, 2003 5:44 am

i've made a few updates to program, and... the new version's attached :)

it doesn't address your problem, Jimmy011991, as your problem doesn't seem to be a problem with the program, but it does make a few other, mostly cosmetic changes :)

also, i haven't tested it yet... that's why i'm posting it as a reply... once i test it, i'll replace the version in the initial post.... but that said, it should work, anyways, but i just can't guarantee that 100%...

and, just as a reminder to myself... a suggested feature has been to email users which have been copied informing them that they can now post at whatever other boards that they've been copied to...
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Jimmy011991 » Sun Jun 08, 2003 2:05 pm

now it says that it copied the users but it didn't O.o
Jimmy011991
Traveler
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:38 am

Postby TerraFrost » Sun Jun 08, 2003 3:46 pm

what are the addresses of the two boards you're trying to copy? 'cause maybe i can look at the member list, and see if any members would have something in their profile, or something, that would cause a problem... or maybe i can see if a user was "partially copied", or something...

also, can you post a list of the output it gave you?

and... just to double check... the info you entered is correct, isn't it? you can verify that by checking the config.php file... you would want to check it for both forum... the reason i say this is because my program doesn't give sql error messages - it only gives errors with php. being unable to open a database would definitly result in a bunch of sql messages, but you wouldn't ever see them.
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Jimmy011991 » Sun Jun 08, 2003 6:53 pm

Everything in the file was correct. The board locations are:

http://zelda-central.fithoslusec.com/forums/

and

http://zelda-central.fithoslusec.com/Gaming-Isle/

Hope you can find the problem.......
Jimmy011991
Traveler
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:38 am

Postby TerraFrost » Sun Jun 08, 2003 7:09 pm

hmmm.. i can't see any problems, there... another problem might be the hostname - this program assumes that it is, by default, localhost. if that doesn't match up with what you have in your config.php file, then i can modify the program to work with hosts other then local ones...

also, try adding this line right after the first of the comics, and tell me what output you get (ie. copy / paste into a text file, and attach here):

error_reporting(E_ALL);

if worse comes to worse, what could be done is that perhapes you could create a acct for me (on your ftp) to temporarily diagnose / fix the problem, myself? that would probably get the problem fixed faster, but i dunno if you'd be comfortable with that (not that i would blame you in the least for being uncomfortable)...
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Jimmy011991 » Sun Jun 08, 2003 8:19 pm

I'm using localhost so that shouldn't be the problem. And what d u mean by "after the first of the comics"?
Jimmy011991
Traveler
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:38 am

Postby TerraFrost » Sun Jun 08, 2003 8:30 pm

uhhh, hehe - comments - not comics. :)

those darned freudian slips!
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby TerraFrost » Mon Jun 09, 2003 8:10 pm

i was able to guess the location of where you put copy_users.php, ran it, and... you're using a version which was, when you tried it, untested. my post said this. also, you never posted your errors, which would have helped.

anyways... this version has now been tested, the kinks have been worked out, and it should work... now.

(the new version is in the initial post)
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Jimmy011991 » Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:42 pm

I tried the untested one after i tried the one that supposed to work. I will try the new one right now.
Jimmy011991
Traveler
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:38 am

Postby TerraFrost » Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:44 pm

i just updated the new one... this one is "hacksafe", too :)
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Postby Jimmy011991 » Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:51 pm

ok. i just found a very small problem:

Code: Select all
// copy users of $database2 into $database3
   phpbb_copy_users($username2,$password2,$database2,$prefix2,$username1,$password1,$database1,$prefix1);


It should be:

Code: Select all
// copy users of $database2 into $database1
   phpbb_copy_users($username2,$password2,$database2,$prefix2,$username1,$password1,$database1,$prefix1);
Jimmy011991
Traveler
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 12:38 am

Postby TerraFrost » Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:53 pm

oh, hehe. yeah... i'll need to fix that :)

although it's in a comment, so it shouldn't effect the execution of it. actually, the reason it says three is because i'm now using this script to keep three boards in sync! :)

i just didn't edit it back when making the public version, hehe. i'll do that, now :)

(the other two are in the hosted boards section at the bottom)
TerraFrost
Legendary Guard
 
Posts: 12357
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 6:37 am

Next

Return to phpBB Hacks and MODs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron